The successful scientific operation of the VERITAS Observatory requires significant behind-the-scenes contributions which do not lead directly to corresponding-author publications. These contributions can be to tasks such as instrument calibration, simulations, data analysis software contributions and on-site service work.

The VERITAS Collaboration has implemented two awards to given annually to recognize the outstanding contributions made by early-career members of the collaboration for critical service work that enables the scientific publications of VERITAS, but do not result in any scientific publications directly. The awards are:

The 2020 winners are Alisha Chromey (Simon Swordy Award), and Dr. Mireia Nievas Rosillo (Trevor Weeks Award), see here.

For 2019 winners, see here.

For 2018 winners, see here.